On a bed of greens

My mom loves giving me surprises. One such surprise was a fresh bunch of lettuce leaves. And the test was I had to use this surprise ingredient for my Sunday dinner menu. Like all expert judges she decided to make a decent exit while I was left wondering what kind of salad would go well with Shepherd’s Pie.

I decided not to google because this surprise gift reached me at that time of the day when I felt terribly lazy to go looking up for salad ingredients. I decided to make do with ingredients that was easily available in the kitchen. Saving grace was the chicken mince which I decided to marinate in my newly acquired chilli garlic sauce, some salt and some freshly ground pepper. After that I heated oil in a pan and added two garlic cloves and fried the chicken mince and kept it aside to cool. The only ingredients that seemed available were a range of sauces, vinegar, and a bottle of kasundi (mustard sauce).

So, I decided to experiment a little and grated a cheese cube (amul processed cheese) and added mustard sauce.  I added the cooked chicken mince to this cheesy mustard paste and kept it aside.

I washed the lettuce leaves and created a bed of lettuce leaves in the serving bowl. I added a bunch of shredded lettuce leaves to the chicken mince and kept it aside.

When I was about to serve the dinner, I added the chicken mince and shredded lettuce mix on the bed of greens.

Time had arrived to prepare a quick dressing. I went for a quick tangy dressing. I added one spoon of vegetable oil (better use olive oil), vinegar and a dash of pepper in the bowl where I had mixed the chicken mince, and mustard-cheese paste. The dressing tasted divine and I poured it confidently over the mix and my bed of greens was ready to serve.  

© itiriti

Photo Courtesy © aritree dey

7 responses

  1. Its true when they say common sense is so uncommon, this seems delicious although I could do without the chicken, will try a variation of this and let you know how it turns out…

    • I think you could use steamed mushrooms or steamed carrots. Infact the sweetness of the carrot and the tangy taste of the kasundi/ mustard would blend well. Anyways do give it shot and let me know how did it taste…:)

  2. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

