Bhaiphonta- Snapshots from the field

Sweets being sold on Bhainphonta

Bhayer Kopale Dilam Phonta/Jomer Duare Porlo Kanta/Jamuna day Jom ke Phonta/Ami Di amar Bhain ke Phonta

The above rhyme is chanted in every household across Bengal while the sister offers her phonta ( a dot made of sandalwood paste and curd) on her brother’s forehead wishing him long life so that Yama i.e., Jom (God of Death) does not reach her brother. The last two lines of the rhyme indicate that even Yamuna (Yama’s sister- Yamuna/Jamuna) on this day prays for her brother’s long life.  Bhainphonta is celebrated after Kali Puja (Festival in honour of Goddess Kali one of the 108 incarnations of Goddess Durga) in Bengal. Across India, this festival has many different names, Bhaidoonj  in Northern India, Bhai Bij, Bhau-beej or Bhav Bij amongst the Marathi and Konkani-speaking communities in the states of Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka.

 Last year on the day of Bhainphonta , I was travelling down to Chandernagore in Hooghly district of Bengal for my field work. I was listening to the show hosted by Mir on Radio Mirchi where he asked one question. Name one sweet which is prepared across Sweetshops in Bengal. There were three options. The answer as most of us know is Khaja. Khaja – a fried sweetmeat made of flour, sugar and sugar syrup is prepared on this special day across sweet shops in Bengal. Each shop has its own twists to Khaja. For instance in Chandernagore, the Khaja has a small pink rose in the centre of this layered sweet meat. 

Khaja being rolled out

 

 While the customers stand in queues patiently for hours to purchase the best bite for the brothers; the workers toil day and night to cope with the production demands. Milk supplies come in frequently and often chchana suppliers fail to meet the demands. Nevertheless the show must go on.

This year, I was visiting Krishnanagar on the day of Bhainphonta. I took a rickshaw from my lodge around 7 am and headed for the city’s most popular sweet shop after it featured in an Uttam- Suchitra movie Sabar Upore. Though the owners claim to be inventors of Sarpuriya and which is debatable; the sweetshop is one of the important landmarks in Krishnanagar. It is named after Adhar Chandra Das. Claims and contestations regarding origins of sweets are part and parcel of sweet business and this shop is no exception. While I crossed Adhar’s shop I realised it was 7 am and there were people waiting to buy their prized possession. When I reached Gopal Mistanna Bhandar, it was 8 am. I realised I will not be able to get inside the shop so I decided to wait to make my way into the kitchen where the workers told me that they had been working the entire night.

Sweet shops become a visual delight during Bhainphonta as each owner introduces new items. So sweets of varied colour and sizes are available in sweet shops.  This year, in Gopal Mistanna Bhandar one came across sweets shaped like watermelon, to fish slice to what they called “pastry”.

2 responses

  1. Hi dear, first of all a very happy new year to you and your family. am glad that you were able to bake the cheesecake for your mother and am so happy to be of any help.
    dont know why but I can view your page properly, most of the pictures are not opening…so have to come back again to explore it.
    as for the link of my post, you dont actually have to ask. i really want to spread these information as much as possible as I had a very tough time myself looking for them. also let me know of any other places to find exotic stuffs here in Kolkata. I would love to include in my post.
    have a great year.
    love
    Sayantani

  2. Hello Sayantani, thanks. I was working on the look of the blog so probably you had difficulties viewing it. I am also linking your blog to my blog roll. Would keep you posted if I find anything interesting.
    take care itiriti

Leave a Reply

